Inaugural Feature Foreign Fruit: Guavita

When I first started traveling abroad, I found myself enthralled by the exotic fruits.  Yes, of course, I was impressed by the historic sites, the beautiful landscapes, the unique cultural conventions, the sound of a new language.  But, for some reason, I really enjoyed going to the market and seeing what fruit people ate.  Maybe it’s because it’s interactive…I actually get to eat the fruit!  Or maybe it’s just because I love to eat period.  Regardless, trying different kinds of fruit has been something that I’ve come to look forward to whenever I travel to a new country.

Here in Venezuela, I wouldn’t say that you’re bowled over by all the exotic fruit like, for example, when you travel to Southeast Asia.  There, fruit look drastically different (from the maroon-tentacled rambutan to the green-and red-scaled dragonfruit) and smell different (most notably the durian, whose strong oniony smell has caused it to be banned in many ports).  But, once you get out of the grocery chains and into the local markets in Venezuela, then you can certainly find some interesting fruit. 

That brings me to the purpose of this post.  I’ve decided to try to describe interesting foreign fruits I find with the readers of our blog, so that even if you don’t come visit us in each country we live, you’ll get a little taste of what it’s like in each place.  Now, I know that the word “foreign” is subjective.  After all, these fruits are certainly not foreign to the people that live here.  And, nowadays, grocery stores in the US carry more and more fruits beyond your typical apples and oranges – so what was “foreign” 10-15 years ago is a lot more common now.  So, for this series of posts, I’m simply going to consider “foreign fruit” fruit that you wouldn’t typically find in the average grocery store where I grew up.  Talk about subjective, but that’s the bar I’m going to use!  So, here goes…

GuavitasClose up of GuavitasThe first feature foreign fruit is the “guavita.”  I found that it is known as the dwarf guava in English.  It’s about the size of a grape, as you may be able to tell from the first photo.  The skin feels a bit leathery.  To eat it, you pop it open and then suck out the flesh inside.  Inside of a GuavitaIt has the same round, hard seeds as a regular guava, if you’ve had one of those, but the flesh is softer.  It also shares the distinctive smell of a regular guava when it is open, but it is much, much milder.  Overall, I found it a delicious, refreshing snack.

~ by Chela on August 12, 2009.

3 Responses to “Inaugural Feature Foreign Fruit: Guavita”

  1. […] March 28, 2010 by Chela After a long pause, I thought I’d get back to my series of posts about interesting fruit I encounter while I’m abroad.  I find it interesting that these posts get, by far, the most regular traffic of any post on our blog.  Maybe that means I’m not the only crazy fruit-and-veggy foody out there?  In case you’d like to read any of the previous posts, here are the links: curuba, anon, mamón, pitahaya, South American sapote, and guavita. […]

  2. […] on this blog, follow the links: lulo, curuba, anon, mamón, pitahaya, South American sapote, and guavita. The post on the guavita also explains my original reason for starting this series of posts about […]

  3. […] in each country we live, you’ll get a little taste of what it’s like in each place” (see the original post for more explanation).  However, I’ve decided in this post to expand it to a feature foreign […]

Leave a Reply

 
